Teaching and Learning

Integrated Learning


Teachers in Reception use the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) to promote development in all areas of learning through an integrated thematic approach. Topics are chosen that are of interest and relevance to young learners and provide opportunities for self-initiated learning.

Years 1-3

Teachers in these year groups use the National Curriculum (NC) to deliver many aspects of the curriculum through an integrated thematic approach. PE, RE, Music and PSHE are taught as discrete subjects as is French (MFL) in Year 3.

Years 4-6

Teachers in these year groups deliver the National Curriculum as individual subjects making links between different aspects of learning where appropriate.

At Church Langley Primary School, we use the Coram SCARF scheme of work for PSHE and the Essex agreed syllabus for RE to guide our delivery of these subjects.


Mathematics and Phonics

Maths is taught as a discrete subject in Years 1 to 6 and children are ability grouped for this aspect of their learning across all year groups except Reception. As a result of this organisation, some children may be taught for maths by a different teacher, i.e. not their class teacher. Mathematical development in the Reception classes is integrated with other key areas of learning and children are taught for all aspects of the EYFS curriculum by their own class teacher.

In Reception children are taught phonics in two discrete 20–25-minute sessions every day, delivered by a member of the Foundation Stage team. In Years 1 and 2, phonics continues to be taught twice daily; children are ability grouped according to their phonic knowledge and may go to a different teacher for this aspect of their learning. Phonics continues to be taught discretely on a daily basis in Year 3 (and beyond) where appropriate, to support the development of children's reading skills and fluency.

The school uses its own phonic scheme of work.  



As children join Church Langley Primary School for the very first time, they enter one of our Reception classes for their final year in the Foundation Stage of Learning. The curriculum consists of seven key areas of learning. 3 prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Equally, teachers support children in 4 specific areas, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

During their time in Reception the emphasis is upon ‘learning through play’; children engage in a wealth of adult-directed tasks and child-initiated learning in both the indoor and outdoor learning environments. They participate in a wide range of hands-on, practical learning experiences, exploring and experimenting inside and out in all weathers; developing their sense of identity, confidence and autonomy whilst learning to collaborate with others.


Year One (First year in Key Stage One – KS1)

As children enter Year 1 they continue to access a broad and balanced curriculum, but are taught according to the requirements of the National Curriculum according to their developmental ‘readiness’. The National Curriculum comprises the following subjects:

  • English (including Phonics)
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Religious Education (R.E.)
  • Art
  • Design and Technology (D&T)
  • Music
  • Physical Education (P.E.)
  • Relationship, Health, and Sex Education (RHSE) - statutory
  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic (PSHE) - non-statutory

Teachers deliver most aspects of the curriculum through a topic-based approach. 

Year Two (Final year in Key Stage One)

Children in Year 2 continue to access a broad and balanced curriculum consisting of all NC subjects plus Re and PSHE.

Towards the end of Year 2, in May, children participate in national tests known as SATs (Standard Assessment Tests) these are delivered and marked internally and form a natural part of normal classroom routines.

Year 3 (First year in Key Stage Two – KS2)

As children move into Year 3, their first year in KS2, they continue to access the NC in addition to which they begin to formally learn a Modern Foreign Language (MFL), which at Church Langley Primary School is French. The curriculum is still delivered through a cross-curricular, thematic approach.

Year 4

Teaching and Learning in Year 4 is delivered through discrete subjects.

Year 5

As they enter Year 5, children are grouped according to ability for English as well as maths. Children continue to access all elements of the NC.

Year 6

In Year 6, as in Year 5, children are ability grouped for English as well as maths. They continue to access all NC subjects although there is an increased emphasis on English and Maths throughout the spring term and the first half of the summer term to ensure that all children are adequately prepared for the SATS tests (Standard Assessment Tests) in May. These tests operate identically to the exams taken in secondary schools, i.e. the papers are unseen and are externally marked. We feel it is imperative that children enter these tests relaxed and confident, as a result of the preparation undertaken during Year 6, in order to ‘perform’ to the very best of their individual ability.

All children throughout Years 3 to 6 participate in weekly French lessons.

All pupils in Years 1 – 6 engage in P.E. sessions each week, which is enhanced through an extensive extra-curricular offer.


Notice Board